Home Awards NewsBrands Ireland’s 2019 Journalism Awards Set for November  

NewsBrands Ireland’s 2019 Journalism Awards Set for November  

NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards 2018.
Photo Chris Bellew /Fennell Photography

NewsBrands Ireland has launched its annual Journalism Awards which will take place in Dublin’s Mansion House on November 14th 2019. The awards will continue to be sponsored by the National Lottery which has signed up for a new three-year sponsorship deal.

The 2019 Journalism Awards will feature a total of 26 categories spanning all areas and disciplines of modern journalism. Entry to the Journalism Awards is open to any work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, audio or any other news delivery format from any NewsBrands Ireland member title.

This year sees the addition of three new digital categories including Best News Website/App, Podcast of the Year and Best Use of Video.

Tim Vaughan has been announced as the new Chair of the Judging Panel. A former editor of the Irish Examiner for over 15 years, he began his career in journalism as a reporter with The Kerryman before joining the then Cork Examiner as a general news reporter in 1991. He was appointed editor of the Irish Examiner in 2001. During his time as editor the newspaper earned an award-winning reputation for campaigning journalism and spearheaded revelations into several major national controversies, including the Garda whistleblowers scandal. He is now Head of Content and Corporate Communications at the global employee communications company, Poppulo.

Speaking about his new role, Tim said: “Despite the challenges journalism is under, there’s really outstanding work being done across the newspaper sector, week in, week out. So, it’s great that NewsBrands are showcasing the very best of Irish journalism and it’s an honour to have been asked to chair the judging panel.”

In his role as Judging Panel Chairman, Tim will preside over an independent judging panel tasked with whittling the thousands of entries down to 26 overall winners and choosing the overall Journalist of the Year.

Commenting at the launch of this year’s Journalism Awards, Vincent Crowley, Chairman of NewsBrands Ireland said: “We are delighted to welcome Tim Vaughan as our new Judging Panel Chairperson. Tim’s vast experience, knowledge, and integrity will be of great benefit to the entire judging process.”

“Thanks once again to all in the National Lottery for their continued support and for committing to a further three-year sponsorship contract.” Mr. Crowley added.

Dermot Griffin, Chief Executive of the National Lottery, said: “The National Lottery is honoured to continue to sponsor the Journalism Awards for the next three years. We have a very successful partnership with NewsBrands Ireland and we are delighted to be involved in this important awards initiative which showcases excellence in Irish journalism.”

Previous articleLuke Reaper Takes Over as Chairman of AIMRO
Next articleThe Irish Times Launches ‘Summer of Family’ Initiative