Home Awards Kinsale Sharks Awards Now Open for Entry

Kinsale Sharks Awards Now Open for Entry

The 2017 Kinsale Shark Awards are open for entries and this year’s deadline for entries has been set for September 6.

Now celebrating 55 years, the Sharks will run from Thursday, September 21st until  Saturday, September 23rd.

AMV’s creative partner and head of art, Rosie Arnold will be headlining the list of speakers this year along with Havas ECD Andy Sandoz and NYC based wise-guy-turned-good-guy, Antonio Fernandez.  A.K.A ‘King Tone’, he single-handedly transformed organised crime syndicate The Latin Kings into a political movement, fighting for social justice on behalf of a suppressed Latin American community.

Following last year’s successful collaboration, the Festival’s speaking programme is curated by Creative Social, which accelerates creative thinking for agencies and brands.

According to Aisling White, who came on board as Festival Director earlier this year: “Kinsale is a small, intimate Festival with a personal approach to speaking to, and engaging with, the creative community.  We are a new, management team here at the Kinsale Shark Awards and this year have taken a fresher outlook to running our most successful event ever.”

This year’s jury members includes Emmet Wright, Chemistry; Chris Beresford-Hill, BBDO; Darren O’Kelly, The Mill; Jim Gilchrist, Outsider; Juliette Larthe, Prettybird; Marc Donaldson, CHI&Partners;

L.A Ronanyne, Havas; Peter Gatley, Grey; Mary Doherty, Red Dog; Russell Brown, Leo Burnett and Lee Hickey, Windmill Lane. Further jury members will be announced over the coming months.

According to Aisling White, there are a few category changes this year. The Best New Awards are expanding to include Best New Film Editor and Best New DOP which will be determined from a shortlist by the delegates at the Festival.  The media categories, meanwhile, have been discontinued in order to focus on the creative and craft categories.

Previous articleIreland Edition of The Times Set to Launch Next Week
Next articleGAA Launches 2017 Football & Hurling Championship Campaign